Doctoral Symposium

The Doctoral Symposium aims at disseminating research-in-progress conducted by novice researchers. A board of experts will discuss with the researchers to suggest new perspectives and improvements to the PhD theses.

The submitted research can address any of CIbSE 2022 research topics. We recommend, although it is not compulsory, that the research is at an intermediate stage (~ 2nd year) so that experts’ suggestions could be included in the PhD work.

The suggested paper structure is as follows:

  • Introduction to the field of research and identification of the main challenges therein
  • Explicit formulation of the research questions and objectives justifying why they were chosen
  • Outline of the current knowledge of the problem domain as well as the state of existing solutions
  • Sketch of the research methodology that is being applied
  • Introduction of the proposed solution and the results achieved so far
  • The statement in what aspects the suggested solution is different or better as compared to existing approaches
  • An indication of the outstanding issues and description of the next steps that are planned
  • Provision of a list of references

Doctoral Symposium papers shall be authored by the doctoral candidate exclusively (thus, the name of the supervisor should not be included). All papers must be submitted in PDF format through EasyChair ( Submissions must be written in English, Portuguese, or Spanish. Moreover, the papers must not exceed eight pages and must be formatted according to the style of the Brazilian Computing Society for conference papers  ( Accepted papers will be included in the proceedings of the conference. The authors of accepted papers must register by the camera-ready deadline.

Doctoral Symposium Chairs

  • Kelly Garces (Universidad de los Andes, Colombia)
  • Carla Silva (Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil)

Doctoral Symposium Committee

  • María Cecilia Bastarrica (Universidad de Chile, Chile)
  • Cristina Cachero (Universidad de Alicante, Spain)
  • Luca Cernuzzi (Universidad Católica Nuestra Señora de la Asunción, Paraguay)
  • Nelly Condori-Fernández (Universidade da Coruña, Spain)
  • Breno de França (UNICAMP, Brazil)
  • Marcela Genero (University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain)
  • Renata Guizzardi (Universidade Federal do Espirito Santo, Brazil)
  • Emanuel Irrazabal (FaCENA – UNNE, Argentina)
  • Marcos Kalinowski (Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • Marcelo Martin Marciszack (UTN FRC, Argentina)
  • Beatriz Marín (Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain)
  • Luis Olsina (UNLPam, Argentina)
  • Gleison Santos (UNIRIO, Brazil)
  • Vitor Souza (Federal University of Espírito Santo, Brazil)
  • Diego Vallespir (Universidad de la República, Uruguay)